Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There are people in certain regions prefer herbal therapy rather than getting treatments from medical experts these days. I think this is a negative development since they are not sufficiently backed by scientific basis and not professionally supervised by certified professionals in medics. One major drawback of choosing alternative treatments instead of visiting paramedics is the lack of support by scientists' academic research. In fact, it is necessary to treat patients based on medical research in order to provide the correct medicines to cure illnesses. A good example of this is a cupping method to cure headaches in Indonesia. Although there are no scientific approvals regarding this traditional cupping method, the Indonesians who live in isolated areas tended to believe the effectiveness of cupping treatments to cure headaches due to being told from the ancestors. Therefore, there are no guarantee that those kinds of alternative treatments could detect the root cause of their disease. Furthermore, traditional medicines are not performed by a certified professional, nor a highly-skilled practitioner. This is because some of the therapists are mainly the elders or the prominent people chosen by the communities. To illustrate, in secluded villages, local leaderships are those who trusted by societies in curing sickness. This believe, however, is simply based on years of experience that the local leaders have, without considering whether one had obtained an actual qualification related to health. As a result, since the procedures are done by non-professionals, there might be no significant improvements regarding their patients' condition. In conclusion, a rising population of people choosing traditional therapies nowadays, in exchange of scientific medical treatments, tend to be the signs of negative developments. This indicates that, there is an escalating number of people who do not recognize the importance of scientific research in terms of medical treatments, nor the presence of professional paramedics in terms of addressing health issues.