Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a well-known fact that consumption of unhealthy food items can have detrimental effects towards an individual’s health and can further impact society. Many argue that one possible solution to this issue could be the imposition of taxes by the government on such food items, while another school of thought believe that this is not an effective solution. This essay outlines both these views and agrees that it is beneficial to tax unhealthy food. The primary reason to support the taxation of fast food could be the increase in the incidence of chronic diseases upon their consumption. This is because unhealthy food items have high fat and sugar content and regular consumption of such food is linked to the development of chronic illnesses such as diabetes and hypertension hence decreasing the quality of life. Furthermore, it can negatively affect the community as the consumption of unhealthy food leads to an unhealthy population and workforce. As a result,the effectiveness and quality of work is decreased. Therefore, the introduction of taxes on these food items can be advantageous. For example, the sugar tax imposed on the manufacture of soft drinks in many countries has resulted in the reduction of their purchase. On the contrary, it can be unfair to enforce taxes on unhealthy food. This could be due to the fact that for some individuals, fast food is more affordable than their healthy counterparts. Thus, the taxes on this food source would increase the costs and be cruel to them. Additionally, increased taxes would result in the collapse of the fast food industry. These companies contribute to the country’s economy and a sudden decline in the purchase of fast food due to the imposition of taxes could result in financial instability and negatively affect the community. In conclusion, although the enforcement of taxes on unhealthy food is not necessary as it could be detrimental to certain people and companies, in my opinion, taxes have to be introduced on such food items to discourage people from buying them. Moreover, money made from this kind of taxation could be used to educate the public on the benefits of a balanced diet and introduce subsidies for healthy food.