In many countries, international tourism has become an important source of income. However, it also has negative effects. Do the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s consumptionism consumptions era, many people can afford to go on holidays abroad, thus making international tourism more popular. Due to the increasing number of visitors, local communities have been wondering if the benefits of international tourism outweigh the disadvantages. In this essay I will discuss both points, and determine in the favor of the latter. On the one hand, by welcoming tourists, small businesses like cafes or hotels keep functioning. From my own experience, I can tell that small provincial bars or cafes are very popular with international travelers, because of different food or special drinks, made only by a specific culture or a nation. As a result, local blokes have more money, which can be invested further, for example on expanding their business. Another advantage of international tourism is promoting local cultures. There are many regional traditions that sell well with sightseers like Kujavian. Firstly, this fact allows locals to spread cultural knowledge about their region or country. Secondly, it gives a passive income source to guides or regional dancers. Thirdly, by luring visitors to discover distinct cultures and languages, we ensure that they are not forgotten, like the occitanian language. On the other hand, tourists can make local people’s life harder by interrupting their normal life. We can hear about it more in the summer, due to small islands like Menorca being overcrowded by foreigners. This rule does not only apply to archipelagos, cities like Gdańsk are affected as well. I know about it, because I live in Torun, which is a tourist city itself. In the summer there are less places where me and my friends can go as a result of crowds of Germans, and school trips. On the whole, this makes our life harder. Another downside of international tourism is the mess and rubbish that some visitors leave behind. When I traveled to Malta, I was disgusted with the amount of trash left on the beaches or night clubs. This phenomena happens, as a result of tiredness with life of newcomers, and their laziness. In conclusion, international tourism is not 100% positive for local populations, due to noise and trash left behind, but I believe that the positive side outshines the negative one, because of all the things we can learn, and support we can give to local businesses.