Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do yoy think this is a positive or negative development?

In the recent years, the number of population seeking alternative medicines instead of relying on medical doctors is increasing. This trend poses a threat to both individuals and the society. It is inevitable that this phenomenon could engender various negative effects on the health of those who acquire other treatments rather than ordinary medicine. Firstly, unorthodox medicine is not proven scientifically to improve certain health conditions. Indeed, many of those methods are based on pure observation and are not backed up by any reliable conepts. As a result, their effect is unclear and it could have detrimental impact on those who use them, delaying their proper treatments and bring their diseases to a worsen stage. Moreover, as those new age medicine does not go through any controlled trials, the side effects of such treatments are unmeasureable and could do harm to the patients. For example, different herbs are proven to have negative effect on the renal system, sometimes lead to irreversible damage. Hence, users of such methods may suffer from other health conditions than those they already have. Moreover, a society in which people do not follow the advice of medical personnel is exposed to various risks. For instance, if the parents choose complementary medicine for their children instead of vaccination, it could lead to a potential outbreak of diseases and eventually becomes an epidemic. This could reduce the health quality of the population in general and also affect the welfare of the people. Moreover, the healthcare system would also suffer as people will only come to the hospital with worsen conditions after trying different methods that do not work. In fact, it could consume the public used for medical issues and threaten the sustainability of the society. In conclusion, the fact that an increasing number of people switching to hollistic medicine instead of trusting their usual doctors has negative impact on every individual and the entire community.