Some people see sport as no more than a leisure activity, others, however, believe that it is important for society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people regard sport as a spare time hobby, while there is a belief that it could hold fundamental social values. This essay will attempt to shed lights on those opinions before concluding that I am in favor of the latter. On the one hand, it is understandable to consider sport as an optional form of entertainment. Firstly, involving in those physical activities could be expensive, and many people could not afford to buy the equipments or pay for membership fees. Hence, it is not compulsory to play sport, and people can choose to do different things in their free time. Secondly, to excel in sports consumes a large amount of time, and people nowadays are packed with works and other responsibility, hence, they may not find the suitable time to devote to participating in those physical games. On the other hand, I believe that sports play a crucial role for the development of a society. One reason is that sporting events could bond people in a special way. For example, in Vietnam, whenever the national soccer team has a match, families, friends and strangers usually gather together in a place to watch and support the team. During that time, people form a unique relationship that could last long and be tightened through each game, regardless of the final results. Moreover, playing sports enables participants to build stronger physical health and stabilise their mental capacity. In other words, sport players will be more likely to endure stress from their job and become more productive, which allows them to achieve great success in their career endeavours. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that sport is a leisure game, the cordinal impacts it has on society is also significant.