Some people say that the prevention of health problems is more important than the treatment of illness and disease and that Government funding should reflect this.What is your opinion?

Many people believe that prevention is extremely important, even more than the treatment of illnesses and diseases. In fact, some of them argue that the government should invest more funds in that. Personally, I firmly agree with this statement. Firstly, prevention is an investment for the future thus, even by changing our habits, we can reduce the risk of suffering from certain diseases. For example, following a healthy diet, exercising and quit smoking, lower the risk of cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, obesity, and pshychological issues. Furthermore, we can prevent certain illnesses with prevention strategies, such as vaccination campaigns and public health programs. In fact, the incidence of contagiuos and chronic diseases can be reduced. In addition, screening tests can be run and thus, early diagnosis can be made. For example, if cervical cancer is diagnosed at an early stage with the Pap test, the survival rate is much higher. Therefore, by focusing on prevention, we can improve the overall quality of life and life expectancy. For those reasons, the government should invest more money in those measures and make sure that every citizen is well-informed about prevention. In conclusion, I believe that prevention is better than cure.