An increasing number of people are changing their careers during their working time. What is the cause of this trend and is it a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, more and more employees prefer to switch their jobs in their career life. This essay will elaborate on the reasons and whether this trend has positive consequences. Probably this phenomenon mainly derives from their dissatisfaction with their work and corporations’ regulations. With the fierce competition among companies and employees, most firms tend to pursue maximum profit, so workers have to do extra work. Only in this way can they meet the requirements of their boss and preserve their position. This behaviour is definitely at the cost of their leisure time as well as their physical health. As a result, they may consider their endeavour is not proportional to the salaries they earn. Frustration and dissatisfaction generate from it and promote them to do job-hopping to find their dream jobs. However, I suppose that this trend has more cons than pros, though when everyone finds a suitable job, companies can operate with a higher efficiency. The most obvious drawback is that most workers spend loads of time preparing to be recruited by another company. The basic skills and the way to tackle problems varied dramatically between separate jobs. Hence, extra time and considerable funds will be allocated to re-train them to grasp those skills, which would augment the unnecessary burden of corporations. What is more, this trend also creates an unstable life for job-hoppers, which will increase population mobility and ultimately pose a threat to social security. From what has been analyzed above, it is dissatisfaction with working load and salary that motivates them to switch jobs, which is more than a curse than a blessing. I suggest that this trend should be curbed and employees should try their best to adapt to their careers and increase their competence, while managers have the obligation to modify their regulations to relieve the working pressure for workers.