Some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory in high school programs (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, people have paid attention to the necessity of high school students working on volunteer activities such as working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to children in their school programs. This essay will discuss this general trend and provide the author's opinion. First and foremost, working on such activities can be benefitial for secondary school students. According to research on correlation between the number of such experiences and their attitude toward studying their subjects, it says that the more unpaid community services they experience, the more they are trying to study their subjects for making society better. This is because, through working on something for others, they will come to connect their experiences to what they are learning at schools. As a result, even after graduating from senior high school, they will intend to contribute to where they live. However, there is a shortcoming as well. For example, especially in countries such as Japan, which forces their students to study a lot, some students cannot catch up with their assignments of other subjects like mathematics, physics and English. This will lead to the increasing number of students who cannot come to school because they cannot keep up with their study. That's why most of Japanese students usually don't have motivations in joining volunteer works. In my opinion, we should study for making society better, so it is absolutely necessary to find connections between us and a community which we belong to before starting to work or studying at higher educational organisations. Therefore, I strongly agree with the idea that unpaid community service should be compulsory in high school programs. To sum up, although some people believe that younger generations should have more opportunities to work for their community without any payment, in some countries, it is difficult to make it compulsory because schools impose too many sttufs stuff on their students. However, we need to reconsider the importance of such activities and take action to offer chances to them so that they can feel connections between them and their society.