It has been believed that people reading for pleasure have developed better imagination and language skills than people who prefer to watch TV. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been widely believed that leisure reading is the fundation of improved imagination and communication efficiency. However, speculation has been made on whether the same improvement can be shown on people with habit of watching TV as well. In my opinion, I agree reading trimph over watching TV because of the rate and the way of presentation of the information. To begin with, book readers can pause at anytime when they stumbled upon a difficult words as the reading process is self-paced. This allows the reader to think thoroughly before proceeding to the next chapter. This enriches their imagination since they have time to digest the materials and create their own version of the story. However, the TV shows are usually fast-paced. Little time was allowed for the viewers to imagine what is to be happened next, thus sacrificing the room for creativity on what happen next in the story. Meanwhile, most of the information presented in books is based on written words, readers have to imagine the scenery in their head to fully imerse themselves in the books. Books rely heavily on the description of the writers on the world they create. Therefore, the readers can spend time on understanding the words presented and improving their language skills. On the contrary, television shows usually have to present visual information alongsides auditory information, which leaves little time for the viewers to comprehend all the information and thus jeapardizing the way for them to learn a langauge.