Some people believe that corporal punishment helps to improve students' behavior, while others think it could be detrimental in many ways. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is generally claimed that corporal punishment is detrimental for students, while other people believe that it helps to improve their behaviour. To begin with, the supporters of physical punishement believe that it can serve as an immediate deterrent to undesirable behaviour, and they also believe it promotes discipline and respect. They believe it could be an effective and quick way to stop wrong behaviours, for example in classrooms among students, creating a positive learning environment. Moreover, those supporters also believe that corporal punishment can reinforce the consequences of bad behaviour, making children more aware of what they should not do. Thus, this awareness can lead them to behave better in the long term. On the other hand, others believe that corporal punishment can have extremely serious psychological effects on students, such as aggressiveness, fear, and anxiety. Furthermore, they suppose that those methods could lead to a cycle of violence, making students believe that aggression is a good way to solve problems. To conclude, I firmly believe that physical punishment should be avoided. In fact, there are many other ways to improve children's behaviour, such as positive reinforcement and counselling. Those methods help student develop self-control and decision-making skills, contributing to personal growth.