“Your school has enough money to purchase either computers for students or books for the library.Which should your school choose to buy - computers or books ? Use specific reasons and examples to support your recommendation.”

There is no doubt that education can be provided through different means. Although some people believe in the supremacy of technology, I would argue that books are an innate method of learning, therefore the school should put their funds into books. On the one hand, those who believe that computers are more important might argue that almost all industries rely on them. This is due to the ease and flexibility computers provide as the software does the rigorous work for them. For example, complex graphs can be drawn by the push of a button in graphical software and research has become less time intensive. In contrast, if there were no computers, things would take much longer to complete leaving less time for other activities. On the other hand, my view is that books are important as they can provide students with invaluable research skills. The reason for this is that the brain adapts to having to comb through large bodies of text in a more efficient way when using physical books rather than viewing the information on screen. For instance, writing a project becomes easier by sifting through many sources to get the information needed. However, if books were not available, the skills to comb through them may never be mastered. In conclusion, despite the ease of computers, it is my firm belief that books are a more valuable resource that schools need to invest in to ensure the next generation learns vital academic skills that can be transferred to other aspects of life.