Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Living in a country where you ought to speak a foreign language can indeed result in serious social dilemmas as well as practical obstacles. This essay will clarify the nuances that matter in these adverse situations. First, communication barriers due to social reasons come into view. That is the relationship between a person who cannot express the language clearly or a person who cannot explain himself/herself as well as the locals will be difficult. Cultural misunderstandings will arise as, not understanding the specific nuances of the language can lead to misunderstandings, leading to a loss of social connection. For instance, jargon and dialogue used in specific areas may sound one way but mean a different way creating ambiguity for strangers. Finally, these two reasons above can bring discrimination and stereotyping, which will have a negative impact on the adaptation process. Another point worth noting is that this situation, which creates practical challenges, may present difficulties in everyday life. In other words not having sufficient absence of language skills causes another language when shopping banking, health check-ups and so on become challenging. In addition, it may have a negative effect on the career path, i.e. a number of job advertisements require the local language at a professional level, and if the speaking is insufficient, unemployment may appear, which will follow a person in a difficult situation economically. Even when visiting their country for a short time or having to live there, it is imperative that one speak the language as fluently as the locals. As famous sayings of Romans dictate when in Rome do as Romans. To conclude, not speaking the language of the host country you are going to or staying in can bring about insurmountable challenges in your life. Therefore one should consider having a basic local language in the country of residence