Some say that music, art, and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

I totally agree with the idea that teaching artistic subjects, including music, fine arts, movies and drama, especially at primary school is as important as teaching the other subjects, liberal arts because of the following two reasons; one is that children can nourish their sense of design and the other is that they can cultivate communicating skills, which are both important in later educational stages and in future jobs. On the one hand, children can nourish their sense of designing something, which is an important skill in the producing process in many situations, i.e. children have an equal chance to obtain some skills in sensing colours, sounds, movements of other objects or facial expressions of others while they observe and experience genuine artworks as school subjects. For example, children who have lots of experience in listening to music, watching dramas, and drawing pictures have superior ability in creating articles, advertising posters, and school albums and such high creativity is what is necessary in many production companies. On the other hand, school children can learn communication skills through watching movies and dramas, in other words, they can experience other people’s lives in videos, and this enables them to achieve social skills that are needed in the adult world. For instance, children who often watch comedy shows on TV at home tend to be good at making people laugh and such ability has a positive influence on the atmosphere in any workplace and leads to more productivity of a company or a department. In conclusion, teaching art-relating subjects at the primary stage of schooling is important as well as other subjects so-called liberal arts because it can promote one’s creativity and socializing skills, which will be important later in life.