Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Since the fourth industrial revolution, mobile phones have become a dispenable part of humans’ life, which has resulted in the popularity of social networks. The evidence for that is anyone has at least one social account such as Facebook to use. However, many people think that social networks have had a pessimistic effect on both individuals and society. From my perspective, I totally agree with this opinion. It cannot be denied that social networking sites have some optimistic impact on today’s generation. First, social sites are developed to connect people from all over the globe despite the distance gap. Residents from Vietnam can contact those who live in the USA in a short amount of time, though the gap between two countries is over 1000 kilometers. Moreover, social networks such as FaceBook, Instagram, and Tiktok can be the place where people freely help others. For instance, a good many retired teachers such as Mrs. Trinh still teaching on their social media to help lots of students get over their exams. However, social networks still have lots of serious negative impact on people. Most social networking sites have huge security holes, and one of that is the anonymity of users. This results in an increasing number of cyberbullying which makes lots of teenagers stressed for a long time, and that the reason why more and more teenagers choose suicide. Moreover, if people upload personal pictures to the public, there will be a chance that their pictures get stolen to fake their identity. To be more specific, cybercriminals can use your photos or your information for bad purposes. For example, in 2020, over one million personal information of Vietnam residents were sold on blackmarket, which makes many Vietnamese confused and worried. In conclusion, though social network has some advantages like socializing and helping each other, it cannot be rejected that it has many serious effects on both individuals and society such as lack of security and the anonymity of users.