Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, a pencil, or brush. What are the reasons for this? Is the decline in writing by hand a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, the phenomenon of writing by smart devices such as laptops, tablets,... can be seen clearly and widely in the society, especially in the young generation. This trend has led to the fact that fewer people nowadays choose the traditional way of note-taking: using pens, pencils or brushes. While this topic may seem sophisticated and include diverse viewpoints, I still subscribe to the view that the downward trend of storing data by hand is a positive enhancement. There are myriad reasons supporting this perspective. Initially, it will not be an overstatement to say that taking note on online apps conserves a major number of trees from being cut to produce papers. As a result, it minimizes the bad outcomes to the environment as much as possible. Furthermore, it would be a remiss of me not to mention that this sort of writing method is astonishingly convenient. For instance, users are able to copy and paste the paragraph just by clicking twice and move the passage anywhere they want to, saving a remarkable amount of time from writing normally on paper. Moreover, there is no escaping to the fact that this note-taking technique costs an affordable price as people just need to buy digital devices and can use them for a long period without paying a fortune for stationery consisting of pens, notebooks,... Adding to the considerations outlined earlier, those who disagree with this stance might put forth the following points. To begin with, note-taking system using smart devices destroys human’s healthcare’s composed of vision and mental health. Spending a remarkable time of the day surfing the internet through toxic and unsuitable contents, or even utilizing it with positive aims includes studying, working,.. still harms your brain significantly day by day. In terms of its inconvenience, storing assignments online requires a charger anywhere you go since its battery does not last as long as the entire day. In conclusion, for the reason I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that although the advantage of writing online is sustainable and noticeable, the disadvantage remains predominant.