In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this? Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, many individuals are keen to learn about the history of their residence. There are several reasons for this kind of new trend, like being inspired by the attractive design of the building or simply being curious after watching movies. To solve this, people can start to have a talk with elderly persons or plan a visit to a library. First and foremost, the major reason of such a phenomenon is that people are amazed by the beauty of their house's architectural design. Vintage-style homes are unique compared to the modern-style buildings, making it considered to be one of a kind. Once people get attracted to it's artistic design, they may start to think about who the designer is. To illustrate, there are many houses in Indonesia, especially in Jakarta, which are constructed in European style since it was built by the Dutch during the colonial era. Another reason is that sometimes, the residents are insipired by the films that they watched. These days, there are lots of films about haunted houses, like "The Conjuring" or "The Amityville Horror". As a result, they become more and more curious about what happens at their home during the past. In order to fulfill such curiosities, the first thing they need to do is to ask their grandparents. Elderly people who once lived in that house might have been told stories from their ancestors years ago. Furthermore, the elders may also keep several evidences, like photos or diaries from the former residents. An alternative way of learning about the history of a building is to visit a local public library around the neighborhood. In fact, there are many historical books or documentaries stored in the local library, so there are chances to find books about notable buildings in the area. Balai Pustaka, for example, a local public library in Jakarta, keeps many historical books talking about the background of establishments of several buildings in the city. In conclusion, the more people being amazed with the astonishing architecture of their building, added with some inspirations from movies, the more interests grown in search of the history behind it. To address such a kind of trend, societies can start asking their grandparents or heading to their nearest public library.