In their advertising, business nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, business are keen to claim that they just launched a new product in their advertisements. This is done to stimulate several customers to purchase their goods or services immediately. I tend to believe that this is a negative development due to causing an increase in consumerism lifestyles. First and foremost, the main purpose of advertisements should be to attract their customers effectively. Societies, however, are dominated by those who are keen to follow the most current trend. If someone in social media, especially famous influencers, posts about new things they just bought, people will likely to buy the same product due to fear of missing out, as known as "FOMO". To illustrate, Dunkin Donuts stores in Indonesia once marketed a new product, named "blue donuts ", which were actually just an ordinary donut but sprinkled with blue chocolate on top. After being promoted by many famous Indonesian food reviewers, thousands of the so-called donuts were sold every day, although this trend only lasted for weeks. Such a phenomenon is a sign of a negative development. This indicates that there are more and more people succumbed to consumerism, which will make someone less considerate in terms of buying the advertised products. Individuals, youngsters in particular, could not think twice before spending their money, simply to be fit in their surroundings culture. This can lead to an increasing amount of loans or financial instability in the near future. As a result, there are higher possibilities of an increase in social problems, a rising number of criminals for instance, since people will do everything they could to attain what is being called as new arrival products. In conclusion, claiming that a product is "new" at an advertisement could led to an increase in demand from societies. Thus, it can also be the sign of a negative development when it comes to a growth in consumerism.