It’s time to ban social media. It has been shown that it has made life worse for people all over the world, from politics, to self-image, to the spread of disinformation. It is a social experiment that has not worked and it is time to say goodbye.To what extent do you agree with the above statement?

Socializing has been the cornerstone to the mental well-being of the individuals nowadays. Although there are debtates over the harmful effect of overusing online communication platform, i reckon the importance of social media, and consider it is here to stay for its convinence and effectiveness in information transmission. To begin with, social media provides a instant platform through the use of groups, where people from all around the globe to join in regardless of the differences in culture, language. This in turns facilitates the communication among different people, bringing them closer and thus resulting in a more harmonious society. Secondly, social media is effective in news transmission. It is often seen that people sharing news found online through social media. Because of the promptness of Internet, we can readily receive information from different parts of the word. Therefore, exposing ourselves to more knowledge and therefore increase in the willingness on joining global affairs. Such as the use of ice-bucket challenge on facebook was effective in raising the awarenss of public on a motor neuron disease and more information was circulated around the globe. To conclude, social media is a double-edged sword, when not being used properly, it may harm the users. However, it is believed that through suitable cencership, can social media be truely shine with the improvement on the mental health of many.