Holding International games such as The Olympic Games is an exciting event. Some people think that it has positive effects while other argue that it is a waste of money. Discuss both sides of view and give your own opinion.

The Olympic games are held every four years. It is an extremely thrilling event, highly organized, and large sums of money are spent on this occasion. In fact, while some people appreciate every aspect of it, others believe that it is a giant waste of money. On the one hand, the Olympics are an expensive occurrence and an economic boost. Furthermore, money is spent in order to create shows and make commercials. Moreover, the host cities are enhanced by upgrading public transport, and building new infrastructures and sports facilities. Thus, the cities experience a rise in tourism. Also, urban development benefits local communities even after the games. In addition, many jobs are created and the local business is stimulated. For example, this year the Olympics are hosted in Paris, where a lot of visitors are travelling. On the other hand, the economic boost and the job opportunities are often temporary, and once the games are concluded, there might be limited long-lasting benefits. For instance, many infrastructures could be underused and forgotten and could become a waste of money. Consequently, the construction projects and the influx of tourists could lead to urban degradation, such as pollution, waste management issues and the destruction of natural habitats. Besides, other areas, including healthcare and education, could not receive the necessary funds in order to function properly. To conclude, I believe the Olympics are a great event, which brings many advantages, such as urban development. However, sometimes large sums of money are wasted on infrastructures that are forgotten once the games are concluded.