The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

There has been a just under quarter percent increase in obese children in the last decade in western society such as Europe and America. In this essay I will not only explain what reasons are behind this but also shed light on what possible detrimental effects it can result in. In light of this negative tendency, there are myriad causes such as fast food, improved technology and increasing number of chemicals in food. As our lives become tighter in time members of the public started to decrease their lunch time by getting food from the streets, which after some time became a trend amongst most people and their kids although it is not healthy. Along with that, the decent improvements in technology made most of our lives turn into passive lifestyle, especially kids given that most parents do not let their child go out occasionally due to safety reasons which concludes in them being bored at home and spending inactive time on their tablets. Regarding chemicals in food, some busy parents are not able to cook for their children, so they prefer frozen or ready to eat foods. This is also hazardous for youngsters as they contain many chemicals causing obesity. Considering these reasons, there are certainly consequences say bullying and health problems. Bullying can be done in various ways and body shaming is one of them which affects children mentally. More and more kids face this almost every day and it stays with them for most of their lives. As to the health problems, overweight people tend to have heart problems which even can lead to death. In conclusion, obesity in children has been a big problem for over a decade. It is mainly caused by fast food and technology and results in severe health problems and bullying among children.