Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries?

It is often argued that pharmaceutical companies must make their medications affordable to poorer nations that lack access to medicine. This essay will agree with this statement because this movement would decrease the death rate, and it is a moral obligation to support. On the one hand, industries should provide drugs at lower prices since it is a moral responsibility. Every individual has the right to have access to a good quality of life, and since drug companies manufacture medication in huge quantities, they are capable of providing not only reduced prices but also medication for free. For instance, AstraZeneca and Johnson & Johnson are well-known companies that produce in mass quantity. Consequently, they support developing countries with medicine of different brand names at lower prices and for free. On the other hand, it is also crucial to lessen the rate at which the drug is sold leading to a fall in the morbidity and mortality rate. When people can afford to buy medications then they can cure deadly diseases. For example, BioNTech provided vaccinations during COVID-19 to developing economies such as Nigeria. As a result, there was a dramatic fall in death cases caused by the virus. In conclusion, I strongly believe that manufacturers should reduce the price of their medication as it will have a positive impact on the quality of life of the poor as well as decrease the death rates. Pharmaceuticals are capable of aiding, so it is a moral obligation to support those in need of help.