The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

It's convinced that working week should last shorter and workers should have a longer weekend, primarily due to the higher working hours and stress in recent days. From my perspective, I believe getting enough rest is really vital for the individuals.

The primary reason that I think workers should have a longer dayoff is I consider that work life balance is really crucial for not only individuals but also the society as a whole. For instance, with a longer weekend, people can pursue their interest, exercise, or get enough rest. Studies have shown that mental health has significant impact on worker's performance, with 20% higher efficiency after getting enough rest and relax. Apart from that, since more and more people experienced mental illness like anxiety, depression, and so on nowadays, we should raise awareness that working for a long period has negative implications for our physical and mental health. As a result, if individuals have more time to rewind after a hustle and bustle week, people can live a healthier life and the society can alleviate the problem of mental illness.

It can't be denied that shortening working hours will cause some problems to companies, for example, there's no chefs of servers working at the restaurants in weekends, or it's hard for colleges to find the data they need due to the absence of the worker who owned that file. However, with AI and robots weaving into the fabric of our daily lives, I believe they can contribute to the reduction of the problem in lacking labor force to some extent. Apart from that, as for the second problem mentioned above, instead of having one more holiday, companies can turn to applying the standards of working from home, which is a way that lots of entities apply nowadays, as a method to deal with workeres' demand in rest.

To sum up, having longer weekend can not only help workers find the balnce in life and works, but also deal with the prevalent problem in mental disorder. However, I also comprehend that it's a risky and difficult change for companies to give workers longer weekend; hence, they can start with dealing the issue step by step, like utilizing AI and establishing the standards of working from home from the very beggining.