People now days send text massages more frequently than they talk the phone. What are the reasons for this trend ? Do the advantages of texting out weigh the disadvantages ?

It is undeniable that communication is an essential part of daily activity, which is further facilitated by technological advancements, including the ability to make phone calls and send text messages. Nowadays, people are more likely to send an SMS than pick up the phone to have a voice call. This essay will discuss both methods of interaction as well as the reasons for which messaging is more popular. In the past, phone calls were the largest medium for interacting with people who were far away. They provided context in terms of the ability to hear and interpret the tone of those speaking. For example, hearing excitement at the news of a new job or sadness about a break-up was much more decipherable by interpreting the nuances in the voice. Without this, messages are up for personal interpretation. A message reading "okay" may have some assuming the sender is annoyed if they are an anxious person themselves, and others assuming all is well if they are calmer. This is a major disadvantage of text messaging. On the other hand, it is a general consensus that text messages are a much easier way of communicating. It is efficient, covert and flexible, to name a few advantages. For instance, planning a trip is an easier feat for those living apart, as it allows individuals to chime into a conversation at their leisure and enables participants to scroll up to refer back to important details. Without the flexibility of text messaging, it can become difficult to fit a planning session into busy schedules and therefore make it difficult to make plans. In conclusion, both modes have their own place in communication, however, due to the many advantages of text messaging, it is evident why many people prefer this and thus I believe the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.