Some people think that it is a waste of time for school students to study nature. To What extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that studying nature -related topics is not a valuable use of time for schoolchildren. Some hold the view that areas such as plants, animals, and ecosystems are unnecessary in the school curriculum. However, I strongly disagree with this perspective, as many modern innovations originate from nature, and the world is currently facing pressing global challenges, including climate change and public health crises. Hence, a deeper understanding of nature is essential to addressing such issues effectively. Throughout history, our fascination with the natural world has led to groundbreaking inventions that mirror or are inspired by natural processes. In other words, nature provides models, systems and mechanisms that humans try to understand. Once understood, people often adapt these natural functions into tools or technologies. This process is known as biomimicry, and it has been a key driver of human innovation for centuries. For example, throughout history, birds’ ability to fly has fascinated humankind. This interest led humans to study and understand birds’ anatomy and physiology, which eventually contributed to the invention of the aeroplane. Moreover, understanding systems in nature supports the development of solutions to major global challenges, such as epidemics and climate change. Developing original solutions to real- world problems is often difficult without models or reference points. Human consciousness naturally relies on making connections between observed phenomena and applying those patterns to new challenges. This tendency is evident throughout the history of science, as seen in the discovery of gravity or the invention of the lever, both inspired by close observation of natural forces. For instance, Sir Isaac Newton was closely observing nature when he discovered the laws of motion. Without his deep curiosity about the natural world, he would not have been able to understand the fundamental principles of physics. In conclusion, although some people consider the study of nature to be unnecessary for schoolchildren, I firmly believe it is both essential and highly beneficial. Not only has the natural world consistently inspired technological advancement, but it also offers vital insights for solving the most urgent global issues we face today. Integrating nature -related topics into education is therefore not a waste of time, but rather an investment in future innovation and sustainability.