Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While space exploration is increasingly demanded for new discoveries, some people believe that it is a total waste of money, desiring the public money invested for other important purposes for nations. I partially agree with this view, for deteriorating conditions of living in modern society regardless of the significance of space projects for discovering another habitable place for human settlement in the future. On the one hand, the government's investment in space examination is disadvantageous as there are a number of people suffering from poverty today. In other words, many people are still left unable to access sufficient food and safe accommodations. For example, many people are forced to live under a bridge because they cannot afford to pay the higher costs of housing. In fact, the place called Airin district in Osaka is one of the poorest regions whose unemployment rates are comparatively higher than other parts of Japan. Moreover, people living there are often sleeping in tents outside, begging passersby for something to eat and drink. Therefore, it is an emergent need for the government to protect the lives of individuals by distributing more financial resources to secure their basic right of living than on space projects whose outcomes are not often promising. On the other hand, investment in space research will be beneficial because it lead to a better understanding of astronomy. Indeed, the devastating conditions on Earth such as accelerating global warming and severe shortage of natural resources raise the importance of discovering another planet for humans to settle. Furthermore, the inability to accomplish this goal can lead to a devastating environment and even the progressive extinction of many living creatures including human beings. Thus, financial property in space ventures is critical in raising the possibility of finding a different planet, which will promote prosperity and peace for future generations. Consequently, astronomical projects will be the only way to promise people to survive in such a changing environment. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the authorities should put more money into the area that directly impacts people's lives, especially unwealthy people. However, the finance of space exploration is also significant in securing the lives of individuals in the long run.