Task 2. Some people think that living in big cities is bad for people's health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of living in metropolitan areas is decreasing people's health has heightened interest of many people nowaday. In my opinion, I would consider myself an advocate of this statement. It is obvious to note that megacities are modern areas containing the top businesses and myriads of entertainment methods. However, settling in urban areas is equivalent to dealing with more chronical stress from the heavy workload. To be more detailed, many employees in both large and small firms have to work overtime until late night or even on the weekend. Yet they are not compensated fairly due to their companies’ policies. This can elevate levels of residents’ stress since the price of services and accommodations is more and more higher through the years. Hence, working with a tight schedule can negatively affect people’s mental health. Not only mental health, but citizens’ physical health is also afflicted. This is probably because of the increasing amount of released toxic gasses from transportations and wastes. Hanoi and Paris can be cited as an outstanding sample for this perspective. Recently, the air contamination level in Hanoi has been dramatically raised and is on high alert. As for Paris, contrary to the splendid images on the Internet, the capital of France is complained to be a place filled with trash. This issue will surge the percentage of lung cancer and other related diseases. Therefore, the air pollution problem in megacities can pose a great threat to an individual’s physical health. In conclusion, residing in urban areas brings unfavorable impacts on both people’s mental health and physical health.