Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce these increasing levels of crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Criminal activities are at an all time high under the current justice system. Some believe that the only way to curb this issue is to post more police officers to watch the public. Others, myself included, completely disagree with this sentiment as there are deeper issues that need to be addressed to help with this problem. A key point of a police officers job description is to help civilians and to ensure their safety. Training and rolling out more police personnel on the streets to help reduce criminal activity is only a short term solution as it does nothing to deal with the root causes that influence illegal activities. For instance, despite the presence of over double the number of usual officers on the streets of Miami during spring break, they managed to help with only ten percent of wrongdoings. Poverty and lack of education are commonly seen in individuals who choose to do illegal activities to get by. It is crucial to tackle these issues and provide help to those that are in need of it. Moreover, once caught, proper rehabilitative measures must be put in place to make sure that once released, they do not fall back into the same patterns as before. In conclusion, instating more officers on the streets might help in catching the criminals, however it will not cause any significant and lasting change in the lives of those that break the law.