Some people say that schools should spend more money on computers, others say that more money should be spent on teachers' wages. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Teachers, by many, are considered to be underpaid. There are arguments for the increase of teacher wages, other arguments this money should be spent on computers instead. Considering the importance of high-quality teachers, and comparing this to the benefits of computers, it is clear teachers would need to be prioritized when raising expenditures on education. High-quality teachers are a major factor in the success rate of pupils in later life. For instance, studies show that pupils that were taught by the best-performing teachers compared to their peer group, performed significantly better in university. In contrast, there is no clear evidence that improved use of computers in the classroom leads to improved test scores in students. Therefore, it is of utmost importance we prioritize teachers when extra budget becomes available. Secondly, the increased use of computers in classrooms could potentially lead to detrimental effects on young adults. An example would be the more sedentary lifestyle as a result of this use. This in addition to less face-to-face teaching would lead to less productive teaching. Therefore, the idea of increasing the amount spent on computers would be detrimental to pupils in my opinion. To conclude, there is an ongoing discussion whether to spend more resources on teacher wages or on computers. After analysing the benefits and disadvantages of both arguments, it is clear that teachers have more impact on learning results than computers have. Therefore in my opinion we would be best served increasing the teachers ' salaries.