In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress in the workplace is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it?

Reports of citizens of many countries worldwide battling with stress are on the increase. The main cause of this stems from our hectic modern lifestyles and busy work schedules, which often leave little time for social and family life. However, a number of solutions can be implemented by companies and governments to combat this. Arguably, one of the main causes of stress in modern life originates in the long working hours workplaces demand of us. This is due to an increase in competitiveness in business, coupled with falling employment levels in numerous countries, resulting in individuals finding it necessary to work longer hours to support a family, with higher expectations from superiors than ever before. Furthermore, the onset of a digital world has meant that many employees spend weekends and evenings at home catching up on work and answering emails. As a consequence, working citizens find time devoted to family, social life and hobbies suffers, leading to feelings of inadequacy and guilt, and rising stress levels. Various solutions to combat these problems could be implemented, both by workplaces and by governments. Firstly, workplaces should be encouraged to offer their workforce the opportunity to telecommute or work flexible working hours, enabling the work -life balance to be more easily managed. Not only would this be advantageous for employees, but companies could also benefit from the increased productivity of employees who are happier and more alert. Secondly, in addition to the aforementioned point being an area which may require governmental regulation or help to establish, the state should reconsider laws regarding maximum working hours and offer financial aid to families. This would ensure the wellbeing of not only employees, but additionally their families, boosting the importance of family values and protecting the next generation from the burdens of such stress. In conclusion, the widespread nature of high stress levels clearly shows some action needs to be taken to address the problem in the workplace. As both companies and governments regulate working conditions and laws, they should take action to amend these to benefit the nation and its families.