In many countries the proportion of older people is increasing. Could this have more negative of positive effects on society?

In recent years, with the help of science and medicine, life expectancy has extended in many countries. This trend concluded with a significant rise in healthcare costs and payments for pensions, but I personally consider that it has positive impacts on society as well. On the one hand, the growth of the aged population is a reason for a number of significant challenges for governments and society. One of the main ramifications is the rising cost of health care, as there need for serious medical care and attention to control the health condition of seniors. This can put significant strain on public health systems, especially in countries with ageing populations and limited healthcare budgets. Additionally, for an older population, the governments should allocate enormous financial aid to support the pension system as retired ones mainly rely on funded pensions. As a result, these allocations will negatively affect the State Budget which plans to invest in other fields of the economy. On the other hand, senior citizens occupy a valuable place in society and have several positive effects on society. The experience and knowledge of these individuals are very important in the growth of young generations. Also, with the help of the older generation, the youngsters will construct strong family roots by following the advice of elders. Moreover, the increase in older people has an important impact on the healthcare industry since scientific laboratories and pharmaceutical companies will make an effort to meet the demands of the older generation who are in need of medical preparation and treatment. In conclusion, although the increase in the number of older people presents some repercussions for governments, it can be inferred that a considerable portion of older people can be helpful for all members of society. It may create a great opportunity for the young to rely on the olders’ experience for challenges in their social and professional lives. (S.N)