Some Countries have implemented mandatory community programs for young people. In these programs, children aged 16 to 18 do charity work, help old people or work with animals. What are some advantages and disadvantages for this for young people?

Nowadays, some countries implemented a imperative community programs for young people. Where they perform various types of charitable work but does this have good effects or does it not? Without doubt there has to be some advantages to enforcing this program for example children who have to take part in this are aged 16 to 18 so they are just learning about themselves and creating their personality so by helping old people or working with animals they will gain good morals and will learn to help people in need. And by doing that we are planting good seeds for the coming generation. Morover, the participants will provide a helping hand to those who work in the place they are assisting for example once me and my sister helped the nurses in the geriatric homes they were thankfull that they had less work than usual. On the other hand, many disadvantages will also come with the enforcement of this program. Because if charity is forced upon us it will not come out of us purely so some will not give their all. In addition it will kind of be a burden for some as it may align with the school year where kids will be busy so it will only add to the work they already have. To sum up i think the idea is good and has potential to serve the community greatly however there is a problem with the enforcment part of this idea. So to gain from this programm it needs to be advertised greatly for example they can say although it is mandatory there will be prizes to the people who participate with passion and those who do it out of the kindness of their hearts.