Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ on whether individuals should compete or cooperate on a daily basis has left many debates. While some people argue that rivalry is a nice idea, I side with those who feel that cooperating with others is more essential. On the one hand, It could be argued that competition encourages positive change in many aspects of people ’s lives. Firstly, it can help them to transcend their capabilities which is probably useful for their success. For instance, people who participate in a competition usually feel that they can’t be stagnant at the same level which means that it can probably motivate them to do better. As a result, it might lead them to have better performance and become highly motivated people. Secondly, the rivalry could potentially invent new breakthroughs and innovations from the positive outcome that comes from the competition itself. To illustrate, hackathon competitions, one of the most popular competitions in computer science fields, have developed many useful projects for various fields in society, including science, medicine, education, and more. Thus, considering participating in a competition can be a good option. On the other hand, I agree with those who feel that collaboration is better than competition. Firstly, collaboration can help to build a harmonious life because it encourages bonding and creates strong relationships with others. By achieving a harmonious life, they can help themself to be less stressed and also protect their mental health. Furthermore, collaboration also can help to reduce inequality in society. To illustrate, having equality in a community can allow people to have the same benefits and opportunities, which can consequently reduce inequity in the community. In conclusion, while competition can help individuals not only to surpass their potential but also to emerge breakthroughs and new innovations, it can bring people to become individualists. Therefore, I remain firmly convinced that competition with each other should be minimised and done only for special purposes.a