Some people think that the main purpose of school and university education should be to prepare people for work. Others, however, think that the true role of education is to make us better citizens. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today's society, perspective towards the true meaning of education is in divergence. Some people think that being a good person is the key of having education, while some argued that it is solely serves as a career preparation. Personally, i strongly believe that the purpose of education is to advanced our capabilities to be able to compete in job market. I will outline two viewpoints in regards of my opinion. Firstly, all citizen are act as an asset for their country. In order for them to be productive and generate more income for the government, they need to be able to perform well on their work. This condition only applied if the majority of the population are educated. Lets jump into an example, a student is being trained and teached in schools to be mastered in some specific subjects prepared by the ministry of education. After completing all educational levels, school and university, they will look for a job opportunity. When they got accepted into one and be succesfull in it, they become a catalyst of innovation and drives profit. What if no ones able to do this and education is only focusing on building a better population? yes, it is indeed not good. Secondly, education is somewhat correlated with good behavior. Those who are well-educated show a better attitude compare to those who are not. So it can be said that it is only a byproduct of education. A man with a high degree from reputable university is currently being employed by a multinational company that applied a strong value on being a good man. Logically, the man will always improve himself in order to secure the job, not only as an employee but also as a citizen. In conclusion, education is supposed to be a seeding platform for workforce and good behavior will follow. Everyone needs to think about the meaning of education way beyond that.