Some people believe that schoolchildren should do their class work individually. Other people believe that sometimes class work should be done in small groups. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s society, it is an increasingly popular topic to discuss whether school children should complete their class work individually or do it in small groups. Personally, I agree to a certain extent that schoolchildren should do their classwork individually, however, I feel that there are drawbacks to this which I will elaborate on further in this essay. Firstly, schoolchildren should complete their class work individually as they can concentrate on their own tasks which enables them to work productively. For example, if schoolchildren are able to work individually, there will be less distractions such as their peers talking to them. It is likely that they could be more focussed when completing their own tasks, resulting in a faster pace of working, and also working more efficiently without the disturbance of their peers. However, one can argue that this might be detrimental to the development of schoolchildren as they might be limited from communicating with their peers through small groups. So, restricting the development of their communication skills. Therefore, although we can argue that it could deteriorate the communication skills of schoolchildren, one can advocate that it will potentially lead to higher productivity when completing classwork. Furthermore, one can assert that they should finish their classwork individually because this helps develop self reliance and practise their ability to solve problems on their own. For instance, when they come across a question they don’t know, they can think about it themselves instead of asking for help and relying on others. Thus, by working on class work themselves, it is beneficial to them as they could develop important problem solving skills. On the other hand, one can refute the idea that they should work individually. Instead, they should work in small groups as through working in groups. This is because through group discussions, they could share their ideas. This would allow them to respect their peer’s perspectives. As a result, they should work in groups. Nevertheless, one can dismiss that it restricts them from learning basic manners, one can agree that there are positive impacts to personal development. In conclusion, there are advantages and disadvantages of completing school work individually. I think that working individually to complete classwork would be a better choice than working in small groups as the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.