Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is a common belief that public areas such as big parks and green places in cities should be replaced by apartments or houses due to reduce commuter's travel time. However, there is a more persuasive argument that cities should not be concentrated with full of buildings as there could have serious problems. There are a number of issues that constructing new residential areas is good for citizens who commute everyday to save their money and time instead having more greenery places. This is because they can focus on their work and can have more time with their families. Recent studies have shown that the life quality of commuters, who have shorter distance from their work place, is much higher than people who have longer working distance. Despite the aforementioned arguments, I stand by the fact that cities must not be filled with residential apartments. If it is full of buildings, population will be increasing significantly and it can lead to serious problem. The primary factor is housing price rising as concentrated population could affect the price of houses. Another reason is that it can lead to unbalanced development between big cities and countryside. An appropriate example of this is by spreading population to rural areas some country sides could be developed in Korea. Additionally, there should be public places where people can recharge their batteries and release their stress in the city center. In conclusion, While it is apparent that the more apartments and houses are needed for commuters, it is evident that some public places should be remained due to spreading people to other side of the city and it is essential to have some greenery parks where people can reduce their stress hormones.