It has been suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

A school of thought holds that children in primary school should be encouraged to learn how to plant vegetables and rear animals. From my perspective, while this suggestion will bring both various benefits and drawbacks for the students, the positive influences of this practice are more significant. On the one hand, this activity can cause some harm for the children. One of the primary reasons is that the farming activities might involve some ingredients like soil, pesticides, and fertilizers, so if the children have little knowledge about how to do and deal with these components, this might cause their hands, clothes, and school equipment to become dirty or even cause poisoning. Moveover, participants are likely to suffer some serious infectious diseases caused by inflicted animals, like ringworm. As a result some parents might worry about the safety and well-being of their child that they will not agree to let them take part in these activities. On the other hand, it is obvious that this subject will lay the foundation for the comprehensive development of students. Children will have a chance to learn and understand the hard work required in farming. Growing vegetables and training the cattle and poultry requires a large amount of work that can make people run out of energy, so when a child is actively involved in this process, they will have an appreciation for these foods and not to waste them. Furthermore, this is also a paramount importance for the attention and care of the students for nature. They will learn to protect and be grateful to the trees and animals rather than demolishing or hurting them. In conclusion, although the disadvantages are clearly to negatively affect the children, in the near future, the advantages seem to outweigh it. Thus, it is advisable that the school should have an obvious strategy for this subject and provide a safe and enriching learning experience for their students.