Some people believe that what children watch on television influences their behaviour. Others say that amount of time spent watching television influences their behaviour. Discuss both views and give own opinion

Many individuals think that children's behavior can be affected by watching TV, while others believe that the amount of time they spend watching is the main culprit. I will give some information about both views. Firstly, some TV programs can influence children immediately because of their severity. Due to the advance of technology, children can easily access many channels on the TV with just a click thereby they can watch anything that can fulfil their curiosities. This spells trouble for an increasing number of bad programs reaching such vulnerable subjects as children, and that can lead to dire consequences. For instance, the Blue Whale challenge was a hot trend in 2018, and this was to blame for hundreds of teenagers in America committing suicide. On the other hand, some channels might take time to affect children's behaviour. If children are under their parents' supervision, they would be told what is right or wrong about the programs that they watch, so bad videos about violence, sex, and negative challenges cannot affect them further. Otherwise, the more time they watch negative television channels, the more violent they become, and maybe one or two times watching TV does not count, but four or five times definitely affect them. On the other hand, parents can allow their children to watch positive channels such as educational programs and exercise videos, thereby they can develop their cognitive skills, information processing skills, and fitness level. To conclude, there are many channels on TV that can affect children in a straightforward way, but others still need time to influence their behavior. I still strongly believe that parents have to be like partners with their children to control what they are watching.