These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children, while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, as a result of major changes in our lifestyle, standards of life, and cultural norms, the role of parents has started to switch. As it is evident, the rate of stay-at- home dads is increasing, and mothers are taking responsibility as breadwinners of the family. The underlying reasons for this phenomenon could be the limited job opportunities, men losing their jobs, and also better employment circumstances for some women. I personally believe that it is not beneficial for men to stay at home permanently, and it is best not to switch the parental roles in the family. In the following, I will elaborate on the causes, and explain why I am against this idea. Fathers prefer to stay at home and take care of the children due to some logical reasons. One of the most noticeable causes of this situation is the fact that proper job opportunities with sufficient salaries are often limited. The employment market is highly competitive, and as a result, some men fail to find a good occupation. In this situation, if the mother of the family has a better job offer, parents may decide to switch their roles. One other explanation for this occurrence is that, sometimes men lose their jobs and staying at home is imposed on them. This phenomenon is a heated argument these days. There is a controversy about whether this incident is in a family’s best interest or not. While some people, especially feminist activists, argue that this role alteration could be advantageous, I totally believe the opposite. Most men prefer to work out as it gives them a sense of strength and power, and if they are deprived of this feeling, it may result in psychological disorders such as depression. Also, the emotional impacts on the children should not be neglected. Based on scientific facts, children need their mothers at home more since it is the mothers who support their children emotionally, and being separated from each other is not beneficial for both sides. All in all, while it is evident that some men are at home taking care of their offspring because of certain reasons like losing their careers, fewer job opportunities, and better employment situations for women, the consequences are definitely negative in the long term. In my point of view, the traditional form of parenting is more in line with a family’s benefit.