It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Some people argue that the development of technology leads to the erosion of traditions. It might be true in some societies, however, other societies seem to be not affected by technology or the modern world. On the one hand, technology which industrialises Western countries definitely causes the disappearance of traditional lifestyles. For example, in the pre-industrialised United Kingdom, families in generations grew in communities of the same villages. These communities, due to common religion and customs, had strong self-commitments in identity. However, the development of transportation, communication, and manufacturing led to the dispread of those families and countryside communities. Therefore, residents need to immigrate to cities to seek employment opportunities. Nowadays, most countryside inhabitants are commuters, and many of them do not even know their neighbours. On the other hand, in some parts of the world, traditional cultures are still prosperous. For example, Amazon tribes are absolutely not affected by technology from the developed world. These tribes continued to hunt animals and pick vegetables from the forests, and traditional skills were passed from the older generation to the younger generation. Other traditional societies, such as some agricultural communities in Africa, are hugging communication technologies. Mobile phones provide information from weather forecasts to market prices to peasants, which helps them develop strongly, thus supporting their traditional cultures. In conclusion, although it is true that many traditional values and practices are vanishing because technology is developing quickly in the modern world, there are still many traditional communities and cultures survived from modern technology ’s invasion and their cultures are even developing flourishingly.