Some people believe holding sports events are too expensive, such as olympic games,and the world cup. But others think in opponent way. Discuss both opinion, and give your own view.

Sports events attract myriad spectators from around the world every year. While some individuals hold the opinion that such exhibitions are costly, others consider it otherwise. This essay will discuss the debate, and give a concluding view. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the sheer cost of holding such activities is noticeably high. By this, we mean that building some infrastructure could be an imperative action that a country should take when it is chosen to be the host for international competitions. A telling example was Russia being selected to hold the World Cup in 2002. This country had to build some sports venues and other facilities making it suitable for hosting thousands of people from around the globe. To do this, millions of dollars were spent. Therefore, it is true that such events could be money-consuming. By contrast, opponents of this view point out that, alongside being expensive, we should consider the revenue and other cultural achievements that such exhibitions could bring into a country. This argument also appears to be quite powerful meaning that we should consider the expenditures as an investment in a country's ability to accommodate, feed, entertain and manage massive amounts of people from various cultures financed by sports fans from all around the world. Therefore, being selected as a hostess to such events is a great opportunity for nations to use their income to strengthen themselves. To put it in a nutshell, I would tend to side with the opponents of the idea. It would be more logical to hold sports events in that despite being expensive, it could bring about significant developments in a country's facilities.