Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems such as railways and trams. To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is an argument whether most of the country budget should be allocated to the expansion of public transportation or should be directed to improving some infrastructures such as roads. From my point of view investing on the foundations is more beneficial for the society. To commence with, funding on transport infrastructures could lead to the development of road situation and increasing the number of highways, consequently it could decrease traffic and save time and fuel. In other words, poorly maintenance of roads could damage vehicles and waste fuel. Also stucking in traffic could have negative impact on mental health of drivers and also could make disturbance in delivery and transportation system. For instance many time we are witness that some ambulances are waiting to other vehicles to give them road in heavy traffics specially in rush hour. Also some surveys reveal more than 20% of the time of people could waste in their daily commuting On the other hand, the advantages of public transport are undeniable. Improving public transportation not only could have positive impact on level of traffic in the main roads in metropolises, but also it could reduce air pollution. Needless to mention it could preserve our energy resources. To illustrate more Tehran subway transfers near 3 millions passengers in a day. This number portraits the significance of public transportation in the big cities. In a nutshell, although nobody can neglect the advantages of developing public transportation, spending on some country fundamentals such as building highways and roads could have more benefits in the long term for the country.