In the past, people stored knowledge in the book. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the internet. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Thanks to the significant development of technology, people prefer storing knowledge on the Internet rather than in traditional paper books. In this essay, I will discuss both the pros and cons of this trend and present my perspective. On the one hand, one of the drawbacks of storing information online is the potential for health problems. Reading from technological devices such as smartphones, computers, or laptops can cause eye issues and disrupt sleep patterns due to the blue light effect. For example, according to a Vinmec report in 2023, more than 60% of people aged 7 to 14 years old have developed short-sightedness as a consequence of too early and frequent contact with digital screens. Moreover, students who are continuously accessing data online can be exposed to some online distractions. Therefore, they can easily get sidetracked watching humorous videos, surfing newsfeeds on Facebook, or even spending hours on their favourite game. Consequently, their working or studying productivity and quality can be lower. On the other hand, the Internet offers enormous storage and promotes instant access. By providing information online, people can promptly access a vast array of resources regardless ò their time and location. Additionally, online libraries can be cost-effective both for book collections and for maintenance. Reading e-books, e-magazines, or digital references often requires only a small fee, and sometimes it is free. This development significantly increases the literacy rate, especially in rural areas. For instance, thanks to Khan Academy, millions of students from developing countries are able to learn numerous K12 courses ranging from Algebra, Geometry, Physics, Geography to Microeconomics or Government and Politics with only a connected computer. In conclusion, although storing information on the Internet can lead to health problems and distractions, I believe the advantages of being more accessible and cost-effective outweigh these disadvantages.