Governments should support care vs. finance for retired people, while others believe that they should save money when they get older. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a debate about whether retirees should take responsibility for themselves to ensure their retirement instead of relying on government support. In this essay, I will discuss both of these notions. In my opinion, people should combine the two methods together to ensure their lives after retirement. There are several reasons for those who believe that the government should take responsibility for people's retired lives. Firstly, retirees deserve recognition for dedicating their entire lives to work, contributing to a better society, and paying taxes to the government during their working years. Hence, they should get better care from the government when they get old. Secondly, the government must mandate the establishment of medical security and nursing facilities for its citizens. A developed country not only focuses on economic and technological development but also concerns basic life security for all citizens; elderly care is one of them. On the other hand, for those individuals who hold the opinion that people should save money for their retired lives, they believe that it is more safe and reliable for people to ensure their quality of life. People should be aware of the importance of planning their retirement years while they are still young. Set aside a small portion of their salary for their retirement and invest in pension funds to secure their retirement. Additionally, nursing institutions and hospitals cannot provide the most comfortable life to retirees; most elderly people prefer to spend their lives with their families rather than go to old people's homes. In my opinion, relying solely on the government or individuals themselves is insufficient to ensure people's retirement; instead, people should combine both methods to ensure a better quality of life in their later years. The government can offer basic security, such as an annuity for retirees. However, the annuity can only cover a portion of their lifetime expenses. If people want to have a better retired life, they should arrange a retirement budget for their lives. In conclusion, whether pensioners rely on the government or take responsibility for themselves makes sense. In my opinion, using both government and individual pension plans would be better for people to arrange their retired lives.