Some people think that the best way to preserve cultural traditions is to limit the influence of foreign cultures, while others believe that cultural exchange is beneficial for all societies. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A magnitude of people believe that the best way to preserve culture is to limit the influence of foreign cultures, whereas others believe in the benefits that comes with the exchange of cultures. I am of the opinion that exchange in culture brings a lot of benefits in a society. More details will be alluded to in the essay below. Traditional preservation comes with an accepted way of life in a society hence the need to preserve it. For instance in Southern African countries a girl child is to be defiled only by someone who has paid her bride price to her family and that brings pride and joy to the both families. There are other cultures of dressing which Southern Africa is well known for, long tightless dresses for ladies and trousers for males which also gives a clear distinction between females and males. However because of the influence of other cultures like American cultures now children are having sex before marriage and they wear trousers and expose their bodies which changes the narrative. On another angle, cultural exchange bought so many benefits in societies. African countries moved from wearing animal skin to wearing proper clothes to cover their bodies. Technology was also brought by other cultures to Africa because their form of communication was drums amoungst others and that was quite inefficient. One could also talk of medical equipment to help with certain diseases and proper diagnosis like the CT scan unlike only using symptoms to diagnose and herbs to treat there are more methods. These are all benefits of cultural exchange. In my opinion cultural exchange is very important in a society because it moves other barbaric cultural practices to more advanced practices. In conclusion, in as much as cultural preservation is beneficial, one has to look at the benefits that comes with cultural exchange.