The government should impose a fee on drivers who use their vehicles during rush hour to help cut down on pollution from exhaust fumes. To what extaent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

With the degradation of ecosystem at an alarming rate, a significant number of ecologists have called for the government to charge fee on car drivers during rush hour, expressing concern about the destruction of the environment. They believe that this national action would be appropriate for improving air quality. I wholeheartedly agree with this opinion since it is integral to reduce the emission of fumes significantly for sustainable environment. Imposing a fee for car drivers during rush hour would have substantially impact on alleviation of air pollution. It is because this policy make people to be less likely to use their personal vehicles to commute. For instance, London, which has implemented this policy since 2013, has reduced car driving commuters to 30% in 2020, and its air quality has significantly improved compared to 2012, when the law didn’t implemented. This example clearly exhibits the implications of charging for vehicle drivers during traffic jam. However, I believe that soley taking this action does not fully address the concerning issue. To make our environment sustainable, encouraging more people to use public transportation should be simultaneously started. Introducing point system for using puclic transport would be the first step in motivating citizens to use it frequently. In reality, Singapore has introduced a similar system, which people can redeem their points gained after using public transit, and consequently, the rate of people utilizing more than doubled compared to the previous year. This shows that government should consider extra methods to discourage people from using their private vehicles and lead them to use public transportation. In conclusion, we would be able to ease traffic congestion by imposing a fee and motivating people to use public transport during rush hour. This could leads, in return, to decline emission of fumes mitigating the impact of climate change continuously.