Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some people that governments should spend money looking for aliens. On the contrary, many of them think that there are a lot of problems to solve in this world and that the money spent on aliens is nothing but waste. However, this essay will argue why authorities should continue looking for life on other planets. On one hand, our planet is vulnerable for many reasons. Firstly, the tectonic plates are in a position that could generate massive vibration on land. Hence, millions of people might die without any prior preparation as earthquakes are unpredictable. For instance, a scientific study predicted that within 100 years of time, our planet could face multiple severe earthquakes that could kill billions of people. Secondly, the sea level of the earth is rising because of climate change. Therefore, many cities and villages might go underwater in the upcoming years. For this reason, developed countries have started investing money in different scientific organizations, e.g. NASA, to search for life on other planets in Milkyway to fight this crisis. On the other hand, millions of people in underdeveloped nations are dying because of the lack of proper nutrition and acute diseases. It is mainly because these countries are overpopulated. Therefore, some people argue that authorities should pay more attention to solving these issues. For example, a study found in Africa that more than 25% of newborn children die because of a lack of vaccinations in the early stage. Another study predicted that most of the Asian countries will go underwater if there are no proper steps to fight climate change. Hence, some argue that more public money is needed to fight this humanitarian crisis rather than on aliens. While it is true that we need to solve tonnes of Earth problems, at the same time, we have to explore other parts of the planet. It is because, if our planet is destroyed by an earthquake or by other planetary collision, we need to survive. Without exploring other habitats, all other efforts to solve the earth's problems only might go in vain. In conclusion, while it is necessary to spend the budget on improving people's lives, I believe it is more logical to budget our money to find aliens for the ultimate betterment of the human population.