What's the right age for parents to get their kids a cell phone? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the younger generation, many children have access to phones at around 11 years old or even lesser, which is not good for their mental well-being. There are millions of reasons as to why social media exposure to a very young child is not good. Exposure of the media at a young age can be an influence to the child and they lack the sense of knowledge to differentiate what is right and what is wrong. Moreover, they can be exposed to the much darker side of the media which in turn causes depression and could also lead to suicidial thoughts for they do not know how to handle such situations. This leads them to make decisions which affect their mental, physical and emotional well-being. However, when a child who has reached that level of maturity and knowledge of differentiating right from wrong, they arent affected much by the exposure of the media. In fact, they avoid such reckless decisions which could impact their mental health. They also don't interact much with strangers online, knowing the threats and dangers they pose. In conclusion, the right age for parents to give a phone to their child is at least at 16 years if not more than that. It all depends on how the child processes information and how they deal with such situations.