Government of many countries had to impose a lockdown to control the Coronavirus pandemic. What were the advantages and disadvantages of this lockdown.Give eamples from your own experience

The coronavirus pandemic came as a surprise in early 2020, and the world remained ill-prepared to address this crisis. In many parts of the world, governments imposed complete lockdowns to combat the pandemic. This essay will discuss several advantages and disadvantages of imposing the lockdown. In my opinion, there are two major benefits to enacting a lockdown to stop the spread of the virus. Firstly, the free movement of people is restricted; they are no longer allowed to move from one place to another. It is strictly banned, and the person would be fined a hefty penalty if he broke the law. For instance, the Indian government imposed a ban on intra- and inter-city transportation, which helped reduce the infection rate by 50%. Secondly, the interactions of people with each other are restricted. In many cultures, people greet using hand-shakes, hugs, and kisses, they are the perfect instances for the virus to spread rapidly. Restricting people in their residence also helps reduce the infection rate greatly. Although, the lockdown is the best available solution for combating the pandemic, however, there are two significant drawbacks related to it. Firstly, the livelihood of workers is negatively affected because they are not allowed to travel to work. The daily wagers are the most affected because they rely on regular wages to support their expenses, and since the whole city was under curfew, it was impossible for them to acquire jobs and earn money. For instance, the government of Pakistan decided not to impose a complete lockdown, instead, they proposed the idea of a smart lockdown. In a smart lockdown, the areas with high infection rates were put under strict monitoring while the other parts of the city remained open. This allowed daily wagers to earn their living. In conclusion, it is true that lockdowns are the most effective strategy in fighting the pandemic. However, there are considerable disadvantages to consider.