Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face-to-face. why is this happening? is this a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, many individuals tend to utilize social media to socialize and communicate with other people rather than direct communication. There are several reasons why this trend is booming and I strongly argue that this is a positive development. To begin with, a few reasons are why many people use online platforms, firstly and foremost, the convenience that they can get by using this kind of way. In other words, this practice allows most people to maintain their relationships with their families or colleagues just via telephone or video call regardless of the distance. Moreover, this method offers less effort which helps more people easily access even from their homes and is not required to go outside. To add another interesting point, this is affordable so, they do not need to spend a lot of money. Thus, more and more people are relying on this development. Based on the above reasons, I believe that socialization through the Internet is a positive development since this phenomenon has numerous advantages for most people. In fact, cutting-edge technology provides a plethora of features that they can access through their mobile phone which indeed improves whole well-being and strengthens relationships. Despite face-to-face communication, it is still useful on a daily basis, however, progressive communication with a sophisticated system gains popularity. For instance, communication applications including WhatsApp, Telegram and Zoom. In a nutshell, the way humankind socializes has swiftly changed from traditional methods to virtual communication using technological advancement. Therefore, I firmly think that this trend is a positive development.