Research has shown that the transportation of products and people are the main source of pollution. Some people believe the government should be in charge of this, while others believe it is the fault of individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is obvious that the progress in transportation has brough a huge convenience to our life as well as severe pollution. It is often argued that the authority should take responsibility of this problem whilst others disagree and think that is all by human behavior which lead to the pollution. Although individuals’ awareness and action is the vital power to facilitate environment. I believe that government has more resources to handle this environmental crisis. Even though everyone have the obligation to reduce pollution, personal choices are often limited by urban planning and infrastructure. I supposed people who believe in this perspective is because they believe everyone should start by themselves, such as riding a bicycle, choose to buy electric car which is more environmentally friendly. For instance, one of my colleague he commutes to work by bicycle every day. He is truly a green minded person. On the other hand, government should tackle with this issue, because they have more resources and power to effectively formulate and implement environmental protection policy. For example, they can promote construction of public transportation to decrease the usage of private car, so as to reduce carbon emissions. This is impossible for individuals to achieve, because these measures need a large scale of supporting and negotiations. To conclude, while everyone are responsible for environmental pollution and should do their part in protecting the environment, it is the government who could effectively improve the situation. Hence, the authority should take this problem seriously and formulating a proper policy.